A sexual assault charge includes rape, attempted rape, sexual assault, sexual assault on a minor, possession of child pornography, internet sex crimes, criminal sexual contact. A conviction can result in high fines, probation and very often, imprisonment. In addition, a Sexual Assault conviction can result in registration as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. The names of these offenders can be published on the internet and can follow them in their searches for residence or employment. It is not uncommon that false allegations come with these types of cases.
With your present and future at risk, Monmouth County sex crime attorney Tara Breslow-Testa is who you want by your side if you are accused of a sex crime. Born, bred and educated (JD Rutgers) in New Jersey, Tara Breslow-Testa has experience on both sides of the bench and both sides of the aisle: Clerking for the Honorable Donald J. Volkert, Jr., serving as an Assistant Deputy Public Defender in Union County and then trial court in Monmouth County. Tara Breslow-Testa understands the philosophy of New Jersey courts: Forgive and rehabilitate where possible, punish where appropriate.
Sex crimes are serious offenses in New Jersey, and you will want Tara Breslow-Testa’s experience by your side when standing up to aggressive prosecutors, and hardened judges. There are possible Pre-Trial diversions, and the police and courts can make mistakes. Ms. Breslow-Testa may be able to lessen your fines, reduce your jail sentence or even have the charges dismissed on technicalities.
For a free consultation, contact Tara Breslow-Testa at (732) 784-2880Sex Crime and Punishments
- Criminal Sexual Contact
Criminal sexual contact is considered a Fourth Degree Crime with a maximum sentence of 18 months in prison. Violations include:
Physical force or coercion is used but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury; you knew or should have known the victim was physically helpless, mentally defective, or mentally incapacitated; the victim is under correctional supervision (probation, prison) or is confined to a hospital or other institution and you have power over the victim by your occupational status; the victim is between the ages of 16 and 18 and is your blood relative or you have a supervisory or disciplinary status over them; the victim is between the ages of 13 and 16 and you are at least four years older than them.
- Sexual Assault (AKA Rape)
Sexual Assault is a Second Degree crime with a maximum 10 year prison sentence. The violations are similar to sexual contact but there is penetration involved, or there is sexual contact with someone who is less than 13 years old and you are at least 4 years older.
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
The most serious sexual offense under New Jersey law, this is a first degree crime with a maximum 20-year prison sentence.
Sexual assault (with penetration) occurs where: the victim is under the age of 16 and you are related by blood or you have supervisory power over the child (in instances of caregivers, guardians, etc.); the act is committed during the commission or attempted commission of robbery, kidnapping, homicide, aggravated assault, burglary, arson, or criminal escape; there is a weapon involved and you either use it or threaten to use it; you are aided by one or more people and physical force or coercion is used; the victim is physically helpless, mentally defective, or mentally incapacitated.
Other New Jersey sex offenses that carry serious consequences include: Public nudity or sexual activity can be charged as a misdemeanor or a fourth degree crime.
Sexting (See: Anthony Weiner) can result in a charge of possession or distribution of child pornography, or child endangerment.
Tara Breslow-Testa is a sex crime attorney serving Monmouth County who knows the degrees and details of sex offenses. She is the first person you should contact if being investigated or arrested.
The New Jersey Legislature imposed mandatory registration requirements for those convicted of certain sex crimes pursuant to the Megan’s Law. There are serious ramifications if you are convicted of a sex crime under Megan’s Law. For example, an offender is required to register their address with their local police department and then required to periodically verify their address with the police department. In addition, a convicted sex offender could have their picture posted on the internet, which will be available to the entire community. In some sex cases, an offender could be subject to “parole supervision for life” which imposes a lifetime of parole supervision which can be described as very strict supervision.
Rest assured, these cases are defendable and although the stakes are high, it is possible to get your case dismissed or entrance into Pre-Trial Intervention. With may years and hundreds of cases of experience, Tara Breslow-Testa is a lawyer defending sex crime in Monmouth County and she has the skills required to get you a good result.Better Call Tara
Sex crimes are serious business in New Jersey. If convicted, you could be facing years in jail and a lifetime on the Megan’s Law sex offender list. If you have been accused of or charged with any of these offenses, contact Monmouth County sex crime lawyer Tara Breslow-Testa at (732) 784-2880.