Picture of Tara Breslow
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
“Thanks Tara for always believing in me and making me feel like I was your only client. You made the impossible possible. Forever grateful.”

- Gabriel V.

Mercer County, DUI

> 0.08%? Litigate! Driving Under the Influence Attorney for Mercer County

Mercer County - and the state of New Jersey - ain’t playing when it comes to citizens charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. The statistics for alcohol-impaired crashes and deaths in New Jersey are alarming and on the rise: In Mercer County for 2015, out of 1,438 cases, 422 were for misdemeanor DUI/DWI - more than 29.3% of cases and second only to property crimes.

The New Jersey Courts are more than aware of this trend and they have passed strict laws for anyone convicted of driving while impaired on alcohol, or driving with an open alcohol container, or driving in possession of drugs.

Penalties and fines can be severe, and include jail time, fees, loss of driving privileges, community service and placing interlock devices on your car. DUI charges stay on your driving record and could effect future jobs, military service, professional licenses.

If you have been charged with DUI, Mercer County DUI attorney Tara Breslow-Testa is who you want by your side in court. Born, bred and educated (JD Rutgers) in New Jersey, Tara Breslow-Testa has experience on both sides of the bench and both sides of the aisle: Clerking for the Honorable Donald J. Volkert, Jr., serving as an Assistant Deputy Public Defender in Union County and then trial court in Monmouth County.

Now in private practice, Tara Breslow-Testa has seen the damage done from alcohol-impaired driving, and understands the philosophy of the New Jersey courts when it comes to DUI: prevent where possible, punish where required. Tara understands the ambitions of aggressive prosecutors, and knows how to negotiate honestly and within the law with judges who have seen and heard it all. DUI convictions can cost you thousands of dollars and years in prison. For a free consultation, call Tara Breslow-Testa at (732) 784-2880

Penalties for Drunk Driving With BAC of 0.10% to 0.15%

A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.10% or greater will result in a prison term of up to 30 days, a license loss of 7 months to one year, and a variety of fines, fees and surcharges including a $300 to $500 fine, a $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center fee, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, a $1,000 a year surcharge (for three years) and $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

If your BAC is 0.15% or greater an ignition interlock device will be placed on your car during license suspension and for six months to a year after restoration of driving privileges.

You don’t want any of this and Tara Breslow-Testa is an experienced DUI lawyer for Mercer County who can help get you out of trouble faster than you got into it.

Penalties for Drunk Driving With BAC of 0.08% to 0.10%

If convicted of DUI with a BAC of between 0.08% and 0.10%, the fines and terms are a prison term of up to 30 days, loss of licence for three months, a fine of $250 - $400, a $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center fee, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, a $1,000 a year surcharge (for three years) and $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

Multiple DUI Convictions

If convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of the first DUI, the fines and penalties are a prison term from 48 hours to 90 days, loss of license for two years, a $500 - $1000 fine, a $280 IDRC fee, and $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund. Also, 30 days Community Service, 12 - 48 hours of IDRC ignition interlock during license suspension and for 1 to three years following the restoration.

Related Offenses: Open Container, DUI Suspension and Possessing Drugs

The first offense fine for riding or driving with an open container is $200. For a second offense the fine is $250 and 10 days community service.

For driving with a DUI suspension, the penalty is a prison term of 10 to 90 days, loss of license for one to two years, a $500 fine and a $250 a year surcharge, for three years.

For driving while possessing drugs, the penalties are a loss of license for two years and a minimum $50 fine.

Better Call Tara

Being arrested and tried for DUI/DWI is stressful - there is a lot on the line in time, money and your reputation. The New Jersey courts are aggressive when it comes to trying and sentencing citizens convicted of DUI/DWI. If you are that citizen, you want a prosecutor who is just as aggressive in defending you. A DUI attorney serving Mercer County, Tara Breslow-Testa knows that breathalyzer results can be challenged, as can police procedures involving probable cause and search and seizure.

If it is possible to have a case diverted to drug court or pre trial intervention, Tara Breslow-Testa will open that avenue for you.

A conviction for DUI/DWI has strong short and long-term consequences. If arrested for alcohol or drug-impaired driving, Mercer County DUI lawyer Tara Breslow-Testa is the first person you should talk to.

For a free consultation, call Tara at (732) 784-2880