Possessing Marijuana Less Than 50 Grams
Fifty grams of marijuana is the equivalent of 1.7 ounces of marijuana and in New Jersey, possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana is considered a Disorderly Persons offense. This offense is not tried in Superior Court, but it’s still a drug offense with jail and fines and a potentially permanent blot on their criminal record.
If you have been charged with possession of 50 grams of marijuana or less, Monmouth County marijuana possession attorney Tara Breslow-Testa is the first person you should speak to. Born, bred and educated (JD Rutgers) in New Jersey, Tara Breslow-Testa has experience on both sides of the bench and both sides of the aisle: Clerking for the Honorable Donald J. Volkert, Jr., serving as an Assistant Deputy Public Defender in Union County and then trial court in Monmouth County.
Now in private practice, Tara Breslow-Testa handles dozens of drug crimes a year - from defending people accused of leading a drug trafficking network, all the way down to people arrested for possessing 50 grams or marijuana or less.
Tara Breslow-Testa understands the philosophy of the New Jersey courts when it comes to drugs: prevent and rehabilitate where possible, punish where required.
A marijuana possession lawyer serving Monmouth County, Tara Breslow-Testa can have your case diverted to Pre-Trial Intervention or Drug Court or have the case dismissed on a technicality: police and courts make mistakes.
Although just a Disorderly Persons offense, drug crime charges can have lifelong resonations when it comes to schools, jobs, the military or applying for professional licenses.
For a free consultation, contact Tara Breslow-Testa at (732) 784-2880.What is the Law?
Under New Jersey statutes N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4), Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, is a disorderly person offense.
The penalty is up to six months in jail and a fine of no more than $1,000. If the possession takes place within 1000 feet of a school, add 100 hours of community service to the penalty, and an additional fine.
Although this matter is not heard before a Superior Court, it is still an offense that neither you, nor a loved one, want to have on your criminal record. For Monmouth County, Tara Breslow-Testa is a marijuana possession attorney who is ready to defend you if you have been charged with this offense. (If a juvenile has been charged with this disorderly persons offense the matter will be heard in the family division of the Superior Court.)Am I Eligible for a Conditional Discharge?
New Jersey courts are prepared to be forgiving and lenient. There are options and alternatives available if an individual has no prior drug conviction and no participation in a prior diversion program such as Pre-Trial Intervention, or a prior conditional discharge or any other similar program. If an individual gets a conditional discharge, the person must remain arrest-free for one year and the court may impose additional conditions. After the one-year period is completed, the original complaint is dismissed.
A marijuana possession attorney serving Monmouth County, Tara Breslow-Testa knows when and how to argue for Pre-Trial Intervention.Better Call Tara
If you or someone you care about has been charged with possession of 50 grams of marijuana or less, Monmouth County marijuana possession lawyer Tara Breslow-Testa is who you want by your side.
For a free consultation, contact Tara Breslow-Testa at (732) 784-2880.